Day 2 – Can I make it to Manitoba?

Last night I decided to stay over in Sault Ste. Marie with the goal of making it to Manitoba the next day. I succeeded in doing so, pulling into Winnipeg late in the evening.

It was a fairly uneventful drive, but I was able to add 2 new birds for the year. I heard a few SEDGE WRENS west of Dryden, and also added Black-billed Magpie to my Ontario list for the year. I ended up seeing 3 magpies along the highway. Just as it was getting dark I also had a single AMERICAN WHITE PELICAN (# 289) fly over a bridge as I was passing through Kenora.

Ontario was a beautiful, but oh so long drive. I plan to make more stops along my way home when I am not in such a hurry, and when I know what species I need to target.

 

 

 

About canadabigyear2013

I'm a lifelong birder and naturalist who is undertaking a Canada Big Year in 2013.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

