Day 1 – On my way!

With my Jeep all packed and ready to go, I decided I might as well make a minor detour too see if the previously reported Dickcissel was still near Luther Marsh. I arrived to see 3-4 other cars and several birders wandering about.

After about 30 minutes the bird reappeared and sang loudly near the road for several of us. DICKCISSEL (# 286). He offered several good looks before flying back into the meadow. At times he was perched low to the ground and singing softly, so it will be interesting to see if it ends up being a paired bird. Perhaps his female is on a nest?

DSC_0039

Photo: Male Dickcissel near Luther Marsh

 What a great way to start my trip!

 

About canadabigyear2013

I'm a lifelong birder and naturalist who is undertaking a Canada Big Year in 2013.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

