And so it begins – epic summer birding road trip! Almost…

But first, let me backtrack a little bit…

Since my last update:

I thoroughly enjoyed the rest of my time up at QUBS helping with Whip-poor-will fieldwork. Unfortunately the weather was awful for the majority of the time I was up there, but in the end I got to catch and band several birds, retrieved a few geologgers, and found 1 nest (with the help of a tail mounted radio transmitter!).

_IGP2310 _IGP2295_1

Photos: Me with the fishnet and me about to catch an incubating female Whip-poor-will with a fishnet. Photo credit: Philina English

After a few days of organizing myself, I decided I was ready to start heading west on my epic summer birding extravaganza.  I have to get myself up to Whitehorse, Yukon by the end of June. From there I am off birding the Dempster Highway for a few days with a friend, and then slowly working my way back to Vancouver and then back to Ontario. I will try and update as frequently as I can.

 

About canadabigyear2013

I'm a lifelong birder and naturalist who is undertaking a Canada Big Year in 2013.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

