May 7-13, 2013 – A rough week…

Well, it has been a rough week! For the past 3 days or so I have been completely knocked out by a stomach bug. I am happy to report that I feel 100% today after A LOT of sleep and water. I have no idea what hit me, but whatever it was I wouldn’t wish upon anyone!

So, here’s the latest on my migration sightings.

Pre-flu:

May 7 – nothing to report

May 8 – EASTERN WOOD-PEWEE & SOLITARY SANDPIPER at Ruthven Park.

May 9 – AMERICAN REDSTART  at Rondeau. I dipped on the Western Kingbird by about 45 minutes, and a Summer Tanager by about 15 seconds (ahhhh!). I tried for the Chuck’s at Point Pelee, but nothing was calling in the evening.

May 10- 12 : Out of commission. Could barely move. The only consolation was that the weather was not great for large volumes of passerine migration, so I didn’t miss any waves of neotropical migrants.

May 13 – Back in action!

I had a CANADA WARBLER in Long Point Provincial Park, and a WILSON’S WARBLER in the old Long Point Provincial Park. Two INDIGO BUNTINGS in the old park were also new for the year.

DSC_0265 DSC_0271

Photos: Canada and Wilson’s Warblers

At the Port Stanley Sewage Lagoons I had 3 SHORT-BILLED DOWITCHERS.

The definite highlight of my day was watching the AMERICAN AVOCET at the Aylmer Wildlife Management Area. It was easily viewed from the blind. This is only my second sighting of this species for Ontario, and my first in breeding plumage in Ontario. Cool!

avocet

Photo: AMERICAN AVOCET (I-phone pic from my scope). It was pretty far back, so this is as good as I could get.

Unfortunately with this cold weather we are having (I have seen very brief snow flurries over the past few days…WHAT is that about?!) a lot of the birds are having a hard time. Swallows seem pretty sluggish in many places, and most of the warblers I saw today were very close to, or on the ground. Hopefully they make it through this last day of cold weather.

DSC_0270

Photo: Cold and miserable looking Barn Swallows at Long Point Provincial Park

About canadabigyear2013

I'm a lifelong birder and naturalist who is undertaking a Canada Big Year in 2013.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

