May 6, 2013 – Point Pelee National Park

After successfully seeing the Black-necked Stilts JUST before dark, I decided to stay down in the region and bird Point Pelee in the morning.

Overall it was fairly quiet in the park. Diversity was good, but numbers were not overwhelming.

I spent several hours walking throughout various parts of the park. Most of the time I was alone, which is somewhat rare here in the spring! I was also the first one to the Tip in the morning, after a brisk walk from the visitor center at 5:30 in the morning. It was a spectacular sunrise!

DSC_0242

Photo: The Tip of Point Pelee at sunrise

 Here are the new birds I had for the year:

EASTERN WHIP-POOR-WILL – I had 3 different birds before sunrise

LINCOLN’S SPARROW – I had multiple birds throughout the park

ORCHARD ORIOLE – There were several males throughout the park

SWAINSON’S THRUSH – 1 bird behind the VC

WHITE-EYED VIREO – 2 birds in the northern half of the park

TENNESSEE WARBLER – 1 bird singing away near Dunes

YELLOW-THROATED VIREO – 1 bird near Black Willow Beach

DSC_0259 DSC_0258 DSC_0256 DSC_0255 DSC_0249

 

Photos: Yellow Warbler, Gray Catbird, White-eyed Vireo, Orchard Oriole, Wild Turkey

 

About canadabigyear2013

I'm a lifelong birder and naturalist who is undertaking a Canada Big Year in 2013.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to May 6, 2013 – Point Pelee National Park

  1. Angie & Rob says:

    3 Whip-poor-wills!!! That’s my dream bird. I never thought of walking to the tip in the morning, we always grab the train. Is that where you saw/heard them? We’re heading to Pelee Sunday.

  2. Hey Angie & Rob,

    I heard 2 birds calling near the house on the left side of the road that you pass shortly after entering the park (I think it may be a park office?). I also saw one sitting on the road just north of the visitor centre. Their eyes glow bright orange in the headlights. It was 5:15-530 am when I encountered the birds. Best of luck on Sunday!

  3. Angie & Rob says:

    Thanks Matt!!! I’ll let you know how we make out. 😀

Leave a Reply

