Update # 1 – April 27 & 28

Still basking in the post Little Egret glow, and 10 hours of amazing sleep, I was ready to start making my way back to Ontario.

I wasn’t quite ready to leave Nova Scotia, so I hopped on the highway and headed south. I decided it was worth a quick check on Cape Sable Island, as there were a few shorebird species reported on e-bird that would be new to my year.

After a few beautiful and sunny hours (yes, finally, I had great weather in Nova Scotia) I made it to the island. It was pretty quiet on the birding front, but I was able to add two new species. I scoped at least 3 NORTHERN GANNETS far offshore, as well as 2 different WILLETS along the coastline. I can tell this is a great birding area, and I look forward to returning later this year.

DSC_0055

Photo: Cape Sable Island shoreline

 With only 3 hours to make the Digby, Nova Scotia to Saint Johns, New Brunswick ferry, I had to hustle. Thankfully I made it with plenty of time, and quickly boarded the 3 hour ferry across the Bay of Fundy. I was hoping for great birding, but it was actually pretty quiet. I saw several unidentified groups of murres, and my only new bird for the year was a handful of RAZORBILLS.

I decided to drive through the night, as I had plans to meet up with my friend north of Kingston on Sunday. It was a pretty uneventful drive, but I did add AMERICAN WOODCOCK to my big year after one flew across the road in the evening.

DSC_0140

Photo: An American Woodcock crossing the road near Queen’s University Biological Station.

 After a few hours of sleep and a lot of caffeine I finally made it up to Queen’s University Biological Station. I had a great afternoon walking around on one of the properties that I will be helping with Eastern Whip-poor-will research later this spring.

I made it home Sunday evening (after missing out on the Snowy Egret, YET AGAIN!) with just enough time to head to Long Point, where I added 3 new species.  I had great views of a male BLACK-THROATED BLUE WARBLER in the old provincial park, and a single AMERICAN BITTERN and PALM WARBLER in the new provincial park.

It was a real whirlwind, but the past four days were really great!

 

About canadabigyear2013

I'm a lifelong birder and naturalist who is undertaking a Canada Big Year in 2013.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

