April 15 – Point Pelee

With the return of warm weather, I drove down to Point Pelee to see if there was an influx of migrants. I was happy to find that there were birds everywhere I looked. Last May when I visited there were more birders than there were birds, so it was a nice change!

The birds:

I added WILSON’S SNIPE (Tilbury) on my way to the park.

Upon arriving I immediately walked from the visitor centre to the tip, where I added WINTER WREN and BROWN THRASHER, as well as a stunning male PINE WARBLER at the very tip. Not too far away was a SPOTTED SANDPIPER bobbing down the beach.

Later I headed down the Woodland Trail where I had 2 LOUISIANA WATERTHRUSH feeding along the sloughs. One was singing while another chipped nearby. I was able to watch them with my scope for several minutes, and even got a few ID shots with my I-Phone.

LOWA

Photo: Louisiana Waterthrush on the Woodland Trail at Point Pelee.

On my way to Hillman Marsh I had 2 RING-NECKED PHEASANTS. At the marsh there were several PECTORAL SANDPIPERS, GREATER & LESSER YELLOWLEGS, and 2 FORSTER’S TERNS.

In the pelee area I added several PURPLE MARTINS, as well as several GREAT EGRETS.

On my way back home I came across a single OSPREY heading west along the shoreline of Lake Erie.

It was a very successful day, with 14 additions to my Canada Big Year!

 

About canadabigyear2013

I'm a lifelong birder and naturalist who is undertaking a Canada Big Year in 2013.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

