April 14 – I’ve migrated back to Ontario!

Well, after a very busy few months of mostly non-Canadian travel, I am officially back in Ontario for spring migration. I flew home yesterday from Mexico (where I was attending a wedding), and am already noticing a lot more bird activity.

Since my last update in March, and before my departure south, I added TREE SWALLOW, EASTERN PHOEBE, BARN SWALLOW and BLUE-WINGED TEAL.

IMG_0481

Photo: A few drake Blue-winged Teal in Jarvis in early April. The camera is still broken, so it is another binocular picture.

On my way home from the airport yesterday I noticed a single CASPIAN TERN while passing through Hamilton.

This morning I decided to take a very quick walk through the old Long Point Provincial Park, where I noticed there was a nice influx of short-distance migrants. There seemed to be a lot of HERMIT THRUSH moving through, as well as several YELLOW-BELLIED SAPSUCKERS, and an EASTERN TOWHEE.

If I haven’t made any listing errors that puts me up to 177 species. I’m quickly closing in on 200, which I hope to do in the next week or two.

With much warmer weather on the way, I am hoping to add some early long-distance migrants.

Now that I am officially in spring birding mode, and with regular internet access, I hope to update my blog much more often!

About canadabigyear2013

I'm a lifelong birder and naturalist who is undertaking a Canada Big Year in 2013.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to April 14 – I’ve migrated back to Ontario!

  1. With all the Chilean, Swiss, and Mexican trips, we were beginning to worry you had given up the dream! Looking forward to more posts, and get in touch next time you’re out west. I would recommend leaving Ontario in mid/late May, then hit up Manitoba/Sask/AB followed by BC in early June. Don’t leave it too late! For tips on BC/Alberta, contact me any time at: russellcannings@shaw.ca

Leave a Reply

