Time for a quick update!

Ok, I have been a really bad blogger lately. I’m sorry! I haven’t been birding much lately, but there have been a few additions.

My last update was from Chile, and while I have more to add on this lovely trip, I will do so at a later date when I have time to write a proper summary.

IMG_0314

Photo: Elqui Valley, Chile

The day I returned from South America I was greeted by warm balmy temperatures. Well, that was very short lived, and winter returned. Even as I type this update it is cold, snowy and miserable. So different from last spring!

Despite the weather, the spring migrants are flooding in. Long Point has been full of water birds for the past few weeks. There have been impressive numbers of Tundra Swans, as well as loads of ducks and geese. I have tried several times for the Greater White-fronted Geese, but no luck so far.

So, since I have been home I have added COMMON GRACKLE, WOOD DUCK, and HOARY REDPOLL to my Canada Big Year. As it stands now I have seen 169 species.

There are still a lot of common species that are back as well as several rarities still lingering, so I hope to significantly increase my total in the weeks to come.

In the meantime, I am off to Switzerland tonight and will be returning in early April. While it is not a birding trip, I am taking my binoculars and a field guide in the hopes that I can add a few European species to my life list.

 

 

 

About canadabigyear2013

I'm a lifelong birder and naturalist who is undertaking a Canada Big Year in 2013.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

