February 17 – Time out…

Well, it was a rather spur of the moment decision, but when I get the travel itch, I just have to scratch it!

I am currently in South America for 3 weeks! I figure this is a good time to get away for a few weeks while the birding is still rather slow (having said that, there are several good rarities in Ontario that I still need for my Big Year, so hopefully they stick around). By the time I return the waterfowl will hopefully be back in droves, and the first American Woodcocks should be peenting in the backyard! I’m also sure some mega-rarity will show up while I am gone, that’s just the way it goes.

So, I am in Chile for the next 3 weeks. It is not purely a birding trip, as I will be spending the first part of it with my non-birding mother. I foresee a lot of pool/beach time and taking in the cultural/city sights. Once I am on my own I plan to get more off of the beaten path and hopefully get lot’s of birding in. If anyone has been to Chile and has any birding suggestions I would love to hear!

I am not sure what my WIFI access will be like, but I hope to blog when I can. Sadly my camera is still not working, so there won’t be any good bird pictures to share!

About canadabigyear2013

I'm a lifelong birder and naturalist who is undertaking a Canada Big Year in 2013.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

