February 12-14

It was a great 2 week road trip. Here is a summary of the last leg.

February 12 – Regina to Ignace

It was a fairly quiet drive from Saskatchewan to Ontario. There was not much to see along the TransCanada, except for the usual ravens and magpies. My main goal was to get to the eastern side of Winnipeg and look for some northern owls that have been hanging out in the area.

As soon as I reached the general region I was fortunate enough to spot a GREAT GREY OWL fairly far off in a spruce bog. When I took a moment to enter the location in my phone to e-bird it had disappeared. Darn! And since my camera was broken, I was unable to capture a picture. Ah.

Approaching the little hamlet of Hadashville I saw another GREAT GREY OWL to the north of the highway, but again too far for good viewing. While driving through the area I saw a NORTHERN HAWK OWL on a telephone pole. Amazing!

With only a few minutes of daylight remaining I turned up road 506 and immediately found a GREAT GREY OWL sitting on top of a telephone pole right beside the road.  Thank goodness for I-phones as I was able to take a picture through my binoculars.

photo-1

photo

February 13 – Ignace to Sault Ste. Marie

The next day I drove to Sault Ste. Marie, and during the whole day I only encountered a handful of species, most notably a small flock of Pine Grosbeaks. By far the highlight of the drive was when I was passing through one of the remote stretches of highway north of Obatanga Provincial Park when a LYNX crossed the road! As I drove by I noticed that there were at least 2 more of these amazing creatures in the woods. I have never seen these mammals before, and I felt incredibly lucky to see them. They are so big and distinctive. So incredibly cool to see!

February 14 2013 – Sault Ste. Marie to Port Dover

It was a very quiet and uneventful drive. Lot’s of snow, so driving was a bit slow at times. The only highlight was a single Gray Jay that flew across the road just south of Sudbury. This was a new species for my Ontario 2013 list!

 

 

About canadabigyear2013

I'm a lifelong birder and naturalist who is undertaking a Canada Big Year in 2013.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

