February 11 – Alberta adds one more to the list

This morning I got up early and drove part way up a winding road through the mountains of Kananaskis. I only came across birds on two occasions. I heard a raven calling, and then came across a flock of BOHEMIAN WAXWINGS! Finally. I have been looking for these guys for weeks. It would have made a lovely picture, especially with the mountains and blue skies…alas, my camera seems to be broken. Ahhhh.

The rest of the day was pretty uneventful. I made it all the way to central Saskatchewan. The highlight along the TransCanada Highway was several small herds of Pronghorn Antelope, and 3 Snowy Owls on the telephone polls.

I hope to make it well into Ontario tomorrow, so hopefully the weather cooperates!

 

About canadabigyear2013

I'm a lifelong birder and naturalist who is undertaking a Canada Big Year in 2013.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

