January 28 – Another Canadian Lifer!

This morning I zipped down to Rondeau Provincial Park, where I quickly located the WHITE-WINGED DOVE reported over the past few days. While I have seen many of these birds in the southern US and Mexico, this was my first for Canada. It was also not a species I was expecting for my Big Year. Woo-hoo for # 123. It was sitting up in a small tree behind the feeders at the visitor centre. I was the only one there to see this rarity!

DSC_0390

Since I was in the neighbourhood, I decided to check Erieau to see if there was anything around. The highlight was a RED-HEADED WOODPECKER (#124) on a telephone pole a few km north of the town.

DSC_0406

I decided to head back towards Long Point, stopping in some coastal towns along the way. Unfortunately due to the rain and rising temperatures it was way too foggy to see much of anything. The fog cleared a little once I made it to Long Point, and I was happy to see 2 Savannah Sparrows and 1 Meadowlark sp. along lakeshore road.

DSC_0413

My final highlight of the day came when I noticed a sparrow flush off the roadside with some white in the tail. It turned out to be a VESPER SPARROW (#125). It is my first in many months, as they are an uncommon winter bird in Ontario. It was on the East Quarter Line Road north of Spooky Hollow.

DSC_0418

 

About canadabigyear2013

I'm a lifelong birder and naturalist who is undertaking a Canada Big Year in 2013.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

