January 6, 2013 – WHAT a day!

Well, today was one of those birding days that I will remember for a very long time.

I decided that I would go and see the wintering ‘flock’ of warblers in Sedgewick Park (Oakville). On my way out of Port Dover I had a BELTED KINGFISHER at Ivey’s Dam, which would turn out to be my first of 12 new bird species for my Big Year. Once I arrived in Oakville I joined the several birders that were already there. I was fortunate to add 5 new species. I had fantastic views of 1 BAY-BREASTED WARBLER, 1 YELLOW-RUMPED WARBLER, 2 ORANGE-CROWNED WARBLERS, 2 RUBY-CROWNED KINGLETS, and 1 CAROLINA WREN. I missed the Cape May and Nashville Warblers, so I will have to wait and see if they are found again.

Next stop was Sioux Lookout in Burlington. From shore I had all 3 scoter species (WHITE-WINGED, SURF, and BLACK) mixed in with the hordes of Long-tailed Ducks.

At LaSalle Marina in Burlington I added 1 adult GLAUCOUS GULL out on one of the small islands. There was the usual great waterfowl diversity, but I wasn’t able to find a the Wood Duck that had been reported earlier.

On my way home I decided to get lost on Eastport Drive in my attempt to find Globe Park. After pulling into a random parking lot-like area I was fortunate to glimpse 2 DOUBLE-CRESTED CORMORANT and 10+ NORTHERN SHOVELERS in a nearby channel. I am sure there were all kinds of other interesting waterfowl, but it was almost dark and time to head home.

 

About canadabigyear2013

I'm a lifelong birder and naturalist who is undertaking a Canada Big Year in 2013.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to January 6, 2013 – WHAT a day!

  1. Mark says:

    Good luck Matt! Sorry to hear a couple of the Sedgewick warblers didn’t cooperate. The Nashville was doing a bit of squinting (and alternating between active and miserable) when we were there on Thursday, so I hope you get a chance to see it. I looked through my photos and do think there is a good chance it could be the western subspecies.

Leave a Reply

