January 4, 2013

Today was a nice day. I spent some time at our farm cleaning out some junk, in preparation for some major renovations later this year. Thankfully we have some good feeders, so every time I need a little break I can just look out the window and e-bird a feeder list. While I didn’t seen anything new at the feeder today, I did notice we actually have 2 field sparrows. Not a rare bird, but one that I don’t see every day in the winter. There are also a few eastern white-crowned sparrows feeding in a mixed flock a little ways down the road.

 

 

DSC_0154

Photo: Field Sparrow at my feeder. Awful picture through a dirty window.

Some local birding in the afternoon yielded 7 new species for the year. At  Long Point I was able to add 4 BALD EAGLES, a male REDHEAD, and several RUDDY DUCKS. The lead of open water at the Big Creek bridge along the causeway is shrinking, but there are still lot’s of good winter birds to be seen here.

DSC_0150

Photo: The open water at Big Creek bridge, Long Point. American Coots and Pied-billed Grebes are currently abundant here.

Heading eastward I added a single LAPLAND LONGSPUR in a flock of Snow Buntings near Normandale, as well as a PEREGRINE FALCON, 30+ BROWN-HEADED COWBIRDS, and RED-BREASTED MERGANSER in Port Dover.

Tomorrow is my 3rd and final Christmas Bird Count of the season. It is the Fisherville CBC. My brother and I have been doing the same area for most of the past 15+ years. It has often yielded some great winter birds. In previous years we have had Grasshopper Sparrow, Blue-gray Gnatcatcher, Brant, Harlequin Duck, and 6 owl species in our search area. Hopefully we can find something different tomorrow!

After tomorrow I will be seriously considering where I can add some highly sought after winter birds. I am thinking that I will head out to Newfoundland in the hopes of adding some unique species that I will have a hard time finding elsewhere in Canada in 2013. Stay tuned!

Cheers,

Matt

Big Year Total = 63 species

About canadabigyear2013

I'm a lifelong birder and naturalist who is undertaking a Canada Big Year in 2013.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

