Wild Turkey

Wild Turkey

Today was the day that I decided to officially commit to a Canada Big Year. I had some nice birds around our feeder, including a few firsts for the year. Most notable was a FIELD SPARROW. Earlier in the morning a quick trip down the Long Point causeway yielded several American Coot and Pied-billed Grebe. Across from the entrance to Backus Mills Conservation Area I had a nice SAVANNAH SPARROW scratching along the roadside.

I was also out birding yesterday with my brother Adam in the Niagara Region, and we were fortunate to see some nice birds. The highlight was definitely 2 SNOWY OWLS that were in a field on the outskirts of St. Catherine’s. Along the Niagara River we saw most of the expected gull species (no Slaty-backed…yet). We saw several Iceland and Lesser Black-backed Gulls, but nothing else of note (except for a weird hybrid thing, which you can see on his Norfolk County Naturalist blog, of which I am a follower). Our final highlight of the day was a SHORT-EARED OWL in a traditional location near Fisherville.

Both days we have been seeing a lot of Wild Turkeys. I took the picture above today while I was out for a drive.

About canadabigyear2013

I'm a lifelong birder and naturalist who is undertaking a Canada Big Year in 2013.
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

