September 6 – FINALLY!

After several attempts this year, and 15+ years of trying, I finally tracked down one of my most wanted birds.

My brother and I joined forces with some fellow birders, Jan and Ed, and made our way to the Hamilton sod fields in the hunt for plovers. Earlier in the day a Buff-breasted had been reported in with several American Golden Plovers.

We scanned multiple fields, but were only able to scrounge up Killdeer, a few Horned Larks and a few American Golden Plovers.

After we arrived at our final field we hopped out of the jeep and started scanning with the scopes. After a quick scan it happened…I saw a smaller brown shorebird…I was barely able to shriek it out, BUFF-BREASTED SANDPIPER! After a quick high-five we hopped back into the jeep and continued down the road for a closer look. I was able to get a few pictures with my BBerry up to my scope. It provided excellent looks for us all. What a lifer! And number 365 for my Big Year.

We dipped on the Western Kingbird that was reported earlier, but it may have gone to roost for the night.

Buff

 

Photo: Killdeer, American Golden Plover and a BUFF-BREASTED SANDPIPER!

About canadabigyear2013

I'm a lifelong birder and naturalist who is undertaking a Canada Big Year in 2013.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to September 6 – FINALLY!

  1. Edward says:

    This photo is outstanding!

Leave a Reply

